Led Zeppelin to Reissue ‘IV’ and ‘Houses of the Holy’

Led Zeppelin (Bob Gruen)
Led Zeppelin (Bob Gruen)

by David Chiu

Get ready Led Zeppelin fans – more classic/new music is coming your way.

Following the re-release of the band’s first three albums earlier this year, Atlantic and Swan Song are continuing the Led Zeppelin reissue program with the impending arrival of Led Zeppelin IV (1971) and Houses of the Holy (1973), due out on October 28. Like the previous reissues, the new deluxe editions of IV and Houses will not only each contain the original albums but also a bonus disc of previously unreleased material.

Led Zeppelin IV and Houses of the Holy (Rhino)
Led Zeppelin IV and Houses of the Holy (Rhino)

The configurations for the new reissues will consist of a single CD version, the aforementioned deluxe editions, single and double vinyl, and a super deluxe boxed set. They were remastered under the supervision of band guitarist Jimmy Page.


If these are any thing like the first three installments in the series, which featured great sound quality and delivered some new wrinkles on the familiar songs, one could only imagine what IV and Houses, two of the band’s cornerstone records, will have in store.

Here is the tracklisting for each of the albums, according to a press release:

Led Zeppelin IV

Original Album
1. “Black Dog”
2. “Rock And Roll”
3. “The Battle of Evermore”
4. “Stairway To Heaven”
5. “Misty Mountain Hop”
6. “Four Sticks”
7. “Going To California”
8. “When The Levee Breaks”

Bonus Disc
1. “Black Dog” – Basic Track With Guitar Overdubs
2. “Rock And Roll” – Alternate Mix
3. “The Battle Of Evermore” – Mandolin/Guitar Mix From Headley Grange
4. “Stairway To Heaven” – Sunset Sound Mix
5. “Misty Mountain Hop” – Alternate Mix
6. “Four Sticks” – Alternate Mix
7. “Going To California” – Mandolin/Guitar Mix
8. “When The Levee Breaks” – Alternate UK Mix

Houses of the Holy

Original Album
1. “The Song Remains The Same”
2. “The Rain Song”
3. “Over The Hills And Far Away”
4. “The Crunge”
5. “Dancing Days”
6. “D’yer Mak’er”
7. “No Quarter”
8. “The Ocean”

Bonus Disc
1. “The Song Remains The Same” – Guitar Overdub Reference Mix
2. “The Rain Song” – Mix Minus Piano
3. “Over The Hills And Far Away” – Guitar Mix Backing Track
4. “The Crunge” – Rough Mix – Keys Up
5. “Dancing Days” – Rough Mix With Vocal
6. “No Quarter” – Rough Mix With JPJ Keyboard Overdubs – No Vocal
7. “The Ocean” – Working Mix


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s