DVD Review: Paul McCartney

Paul McCartney
The McCartney Years
By David Chiu

This 3-DVD set is the most comprehensive retrospective on McCartney’s career, spanning his time in Wings through 2005’s Chaos and Creation in the Backyard. On the first two DVDs there is a video for every single Macca has released in the last 35 + years : “Band on the Run,” “My Love,” “With a Little Luck,” “Ebony and Ivory,” “No More Lonely Nights,” and “Fine Line,” and more. Most of the videos were very innovative and extravagant especially on “Coming Up” and “Pipes of Peace.” The third DVD is a sampling of Macca’s live solo performances: a 1976 show at the height of Wings’ popularity; excerpts from the classic 1991 Unplugged concert (which, by the way, deserves to be shown in its entirety on a DVD); and his recent appearance at Glastonbury. Extras include interviews, commentaries for several videos and McCartney’s appearances at Live Aid and the Super Bowl.

Watch clips of McCartney’s “Coming Up” and “This One,” both on The McCartney Years:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s